Mobile Nav Open


Siebel Center for Design Director Rachel Switzky

Rachel Switzky

Inaugural Director

Rachel Switzky is the inaugural director of the Siebel Center for Design. Prior to her current appointment, she has been a global design leader working with Fortune 100 companies over the past 20 years.

Most recently, she served as an Executive Director at IDEO, the company who pioneered the concept of design thinking. For the last decade in this role, she helped teams imagine futures and then put them into action, focusing on digital design, emergent technologies and impact at-scale.

Rachel attended the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, receiving her BFA and MFA in Industrial Design from the College of Fine and Applied Arts.

Core Team

Lisa Bralts
Associate Director of Marketing

Rachael Dietkus
Associate Director of Programs

Jake Fava
Design Strategist

Amanda Henderson
Senior Design Strategist

Carrie James
Research Assistant

Aditi Jha
Design Strategist

Emily Kasak
Office Manager

Lucas O’Bryan
Design Strategist

Alex Pagano
Senior Design Strategist

Dr. William Patterson
Senior Design Strategist
Social Impact

Nicholas Puddicombe
Associate Director of Operations and Experience

Luciana Rodrigues
Senior Design Strategist

Gail Rost
Senior Design Strategist
Educational Partnerships K-14

Saad Shehab
Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

Kofo Sulaiman
Interaction Designer

Rachel Switzky

Mike Tissenbaum
Affiliated Faculty

Alexis Vasquez
Graphic Designer

Kendra Wieneke
Associate Director of Business Development and Advancement

Robin Woodall
Assistant to the Director

Summer Interns

Introducing SCD’s 2020 summer intern squad! This group will spend the next couple of months working on a wide variety of projects as part of the SCD team. We’re so glad they’re with us!

2020 Summer Interns: Arthur Hall - New Media (FR); Doriane Mulunda - Community Health (FR); Kathleen Culligan - Industrial Design (SO); Claire O'Brien - Journalism (SO); Shavonne Cole - Marketing (SO); Maxwell Chan- Industrial Design (SO); Kerry Wen - Industrial Design (JR); Elizabeth Zelenka - Statistics (JR); Alastair Merrett - Urban Planning (JR); Tommy Yang - Materials Science & Engineering (JR); Kiran Murphy - Bioengineering & ECE (SR); Deja Cook-Reynolds - Recreation, Sports & Tourism (SR); Gaurav Sinha - Social Work (PH.D); Karla G Sanabria Veaz - Linguistics, Teaching ESL (MA); Lesley Owens - English, Writing Studies (Ph.D); Monica Lannom - Neuroscience (Ph.D); Taehyun Kim - Curriculum & Instruction (Ph.D); Alixandra Shuger - Creative Writing (MFA); Kevin Hall - Curriculum & Instruction (Ph.D); Sylvia Yang - Curriculum & Instruction (Ph.D)

Siebel Center for Design

At Illinois


Copyright ©2020 The Board of Trustees at the University of Illinois

Privacy Statement | Engineering Cookie Policy